Cakes & Cookies

3 minute Red Velvet Cakes & Cupcakes – Easy Microwave version

DSC_0668

A day prior to my son’s 1st birthday, after I was done preparing 4 dozen cupcakes for the party next day, my hubby announced he wanted a ‘proper’ cake for cutting. I was planning to decorate one of the cupcakes itself, but hubby would have none of that. I was either to make a proper cake or he’d order one, he announced.

Since everything else for the birthday party was being made at home (the list included, chocolate lollipops, mini heart-shaped pizzas and jelly), I did not want to order the cake and spoil the do-it-yourself mood I was in. Since I had lots of tasks lined up for D-day, I decided I wanted to make a simple and easy cake. I was racking my brains as I cleared up the mess I’d made while baking the cupcakes, when my eyes fell on the unused box of red food colouring I’d bought just-in-case I needed it for something and I thought why not prepare a Red Velvet Cake? Since this cake was for cutting and consumption by adults, I had no qualms in using the food colour. You could try using a tbsp of beet puree instead if you want to avoid using the food colour.

I used the typical MW chocolate cake recipe I prepare quite often and adjusted ingredients and proportions a bit to get this one. I topped the cake with a slab of chocolate moulded like a bear (I used a bear cake mould) and piped a big ‘1’ on it using vanilla buttercream icing. I also piped some simple designs on the side as well as along the borders using the star tip.

DSC_0618_1

The cake was Red Velvet, topped with some vanilla buttercream icing, topped with a dark chocolate bear and chocolate icing designs. It looked kind of cute and tasted really really yummy! Very simple to make and fun to look at. Do try it.

Since I couldn’t take any good pictures of my cake, I prepared some Red Velvet Cupcakes and decorated them for this post. Sadly though, I added more cocoa and the red effect wasn’t so prominent. Anyway, I served them to my nephews and they enjoyed them immensely. I used the quantities mentioned below for the birthday cake and halved the quantities mentioned for the cupcakes and got 6 of them. I stuck some chocolate banners into them using toothpicks and some homemade chocolates that I’d made earlier.

CSC_0672

Btw, these cupcakes was the third time I prepared them to get a picture. With my nephews always nosing around and wanting to help with prepararing the cakes each time and polishing them straight out of the oven, it was a humongous task for me to manage to take pictures!

These cupcakes are off to Valli’s month-long blogging marathon and I’ll be posting on occassion-special dishes this whole week.

DSC_0670

RED VELVET CAKE – EASY MICROWAVE VERSION

Ingredients:
APF – 6 tbsp
Baking powder – 1 tsp
Baking soda – 1/4 tsp
Cocoa powder – 2 tbsp
Red food colour – 1 tsp (see note 1)
Icing sugar – 10-12 tbsp
Melted butter – 2 tbsp
Curd – 1/4 cup
Milk – 1/4 cup

Method:
Sift together all the dry ingredients, except the food colour
Mix together all liquid ingredients. Add the food colour and mix well
Add wet mix to dry mix and beat well with a wire whisk
Grease a microwave safe bowl and dust it with icing sugar or APF
Pour the cake batter into the prepared container (make sure it is less than the halfway mark because this cake rises a LOT)
Micowave on high for 3 minutes and let the cake rest in the closed MW for a minute or two. If making cupcakes, microwave for 1.5 minutes and rest for 30 sec
Take out the bowl and inset a toothpick to check if it is fully cooked. Return to the MW for 30 seconds if it is undercooked
Let cool completele before demoulding. I was impatient and ended up with a broken cake that had to be repaired with icing

Decorating the Cake
Ingredients:
Butter (softened) – 1/4 cup
Icing Sugar – 1/2 cup (scant)
Milk – 1-2 tsp
Vanilla essence – a drop or two
Cocoa powder – 2 tsp
Cooking dark chocolate – 50 gm
Cake mould in any interesting shape smaller than your cake – I used a bear mould

Method:
Melt chocolate and pour into the mould. Shake the mould gently so that chocolate spreads evenly around the base. Set aside till it cools
Meanwhile, add icing sugar and vanilla essence to butter and beat well with a wooden spoon. Remove about a fourth of the icing. Add cocoa powder to this and beat well. Add 1 tsp of milk to the remaining vanilla buttercream and mix well. It should be in a spreadble consistency, so add milk accordingly
Spread the vanilla buttercream icing as evenly as you can over the cake. You can apply it to the sides or leave it as it is
Fill the chocolate buttercream icing into a small piping bag fitted with a tip of your choice (I used big star tip) and make small patters along the border and base of the cake
Demould the moulded chocolate and place carefully on top of the cake bang in the centre
Your cake’s ready!!!

Alternate Sugar Glaze

Ingredients:

Icing sugar – 3/4 cup

Vanilla essence – 1/2 tsp

Milk – 1 tbsp

Coloured sugar sprinkles

Method:

Mix icing sugar, vanilla essence and milk to get a thick pouring consistency

Pour over cupcakes when cool

Sprinkle colourful sugar pearls

42 thoughts on “3 minute Red Velvet Cakes & Cupcakes – Easy Microwave version

  1. Nandini get ready for a big essay here. Came back home my elder kid who is answering her exams wanted for once something I had made. Looking at my face, that must have said O I wish I did not come back home, she said she will help me! So we set out to bake these cupcakes. Now these took more than 3 minutes in my micro and on reading your say that they rise a lot i put a plate underneath. I do agree they rise they did rise so much that They were all adorning the plate and none in the moulds. Anyway she calmly removed the moulds and the liners and sat down to eat from the plate. She has loved the taste. She want the same made again but this time she is going to 1/2 the recipe as my micro can hold only 6 moulds.

  2. Pingback: Mini Heart Pizza | foodiliciousnan

  3. Pingback: Manga Pachadi aka Raw Mango Preserve | foodiliciousnan

  4. Hi, can i know what causes the cake to rise? cause i add more flour after 1st bake because it was too sweet, but it don’t rise anymore. mine kinda like rubbery now. anyway to improve that? thank you!

    • Hi Melissa. It is the chemical reaction between the curd/yogurt and baking powder/soda that causes this cake to rise. Did you add more flour to a new batter? Then you must add a wee bit extra milk to maintain the consistency of the batter. It could have turned rubbery also if you mw it longer than 2-2.5 mins. Hope this helps. To say right the rubbery cake, cut into roundels and bake/mw till crisp and enjoy as cookies!

  5. I had followed it as written, it did rise quit more than 2times but at the end of 3 mins it as still wet and liquidy. I kept it for 3 mins to cool and it just went down flat, after that I tried to re microware it but it just not getting cooked. The butter I used was salty. Do you need egg ? or are we missing something else

      • Hi Koshy. Sorry you had to wait long for a response. One reason why your batter rose, and then went flat could be too much raising agent ie. Baking powder and soda. Did you use just the quantity specified? In that case you could try reducing the baking powder to 1/2 tsp. I tried the same recipe again last week and it turned out just fine for me. Do try and let me know

  6. Pingback: Quark-Red Velvet Trifle (with Quark DIY) | foodiliciousnan

  7. Wow, this is an amazing way of baking cakes & cupcakes for a lazy baker like me. I am a truly such a sucker for any red velvet cakes or cupcakes! Unfortunately, I am a student and baking any cupcakes or cakes is a time consuming and usually I would just buy from any bakery. But, “3 minutes” of baking is an ideal way for me to start baking whenever I have the crave for red velvet. Thanks for the great tips!

    • Siti Nazia Jahir: I’d call this microwave-cupcake-ing more than baking. And don’t expect your typical rich Red Velvet with this recipe. But for a 3- minute cake, this spongy goodness is a wonderful quick solution to sudden RV cravings. Happy ‘baking’ and do let me know how you liked it

  8. Hi Koshy. Sorry you had to wait long for a response. One reason why your batter rose, and then went flat could be too much raising agent ie. Baking powder and soda. Did you use just the quantity specified? In that case you could try reducing the baking powder to 1/2 tsp. I tried the same recipe again last week and it turned out just fine for me. Do try and let me know

Leave a comment