Cakes & Cookies

Quick Dark Chocolate Cake

My nephew is a chocoholic. He knows that I give him ample company in this department. So, each time he comes over, he requests me to make something ‘chocolaty’ for him. The other day we were eating some store-bought oozing chocolate cookies and I wondered if I could replicate it. I ended up with a chocolate-filled cookie, but the filling did not ooze out. The filling just seemed like one of those chocolate cream biscuits and I thought the end product was neither worth the effort nor did justice to the lovely dark chocolate we used.

So, when he came over today, I thought I might as well ask my nephew what he was up to eating. I think he overestimates my baking skills and asked me to prepare a more decadent version of the One Cup Cake that I often prepare for him. I wondered how I could make it more chocolaty without simply adding a sauce on top. I though I’d make a fruit and nut version of it, but he refused flat out, saying he wanted something that was ‘just chocolate’!

Since I neither had much option nor enough time, I just worked around the original recipe, adding more cocoa powder, reducing the sugar, substituting some of the milk with milk powder and more curd. The result was an intensely dark chocolate cake that all of us dug into. My nephew was impatience personified when I was trying to click a picture of the cake but was gracious enough to let me shoot when he popped in the first piece with the knife itself!

 Quick Dark Chocolate Cake

Ingredients:

Maida/APF – 5 tbsp

Powdered sugar – 5 tbsp

Cocoa Powder – 2 tbsp

Baking powder – ½ tsp

Baking soda – a big pinch

Curd/Yogurt – 4 ½ tbsp

Milk – 2 tbsp

Oil – 3 tbsp

Nutella – 3 tbsp

For the chocolate sauce:

Cooking chocolate – 50 gm

Milk powder – 1tbsp

Milk – 1 tbsp

Method:

Sift together baking powder, soda, flour, milk powder, sugar and cocoa

Add milk, curd/yogurt and oil to the dry mix and beat well with a wooden spoon or wire whisk

Add nutella and mix well

Pour into a microwave-safe container and microwave for 2 ½ mins

Check if it is fully cooked. Microwave for 30 sec more if required. It took me 3 mins

Let stand in the microwave oven for a minute and then remove. Demould when cool

Meanwhile, melt the cooking chocolate in a double boiler

Add milk powder and milk and mix well

Pour over cake and serve

PS: Apologies for the bad photography. I’ll try and post better pictures next time I make this!

All the posts this week have been about Chocolate as that’s what I chose to blog about for Srivalli’s Blogging Marathon, edition 19. This post also goes to her Kids Delight event that is being hosted by Vaishali this month

11 thoughts on “Quick Dark Chocolate Cake

  1. Pingback: 3 minute Red Velvet Cake – Easy Microwave version | foodiliciousnan

  2. Pingback: Gooey Chocolate Centre Cupcakes | foodiliciousnan

Leave a Reply

