Breads

100% whole wheat Hot chocolate rolls with dark chocolate chunks

This is part 3 of the series I’m writing for a Facebook bakers group.hot chocolate rolls

BLOGGER TUESDAY ALERT – week 3

100% whole wheat Hot Chocolate rolls with Dark Chocolate chunks

(I know, the name’s a mouthful, but so are the rolls!)

Are you one of those who love cinnamon rolls, but always secretly nursed the wish that there were other flavour options at home is too? Welcome to my world! Let me clarify. I LOVE cinnamon. In fact I always have a cute little 100 gm bottle that always has powdered cinnamon in it. Nah! None of those pre-powdered stuff for me please! I always powder my lovely organic Ceylon cinnamon at home. Of course, it isn’t as fine as the store-bought variety. It has a slightly granular texture like your chiroti rava – it’s got character I say!

But there are times, like it was for me last week, when you run out of cinnamon! Yes! That happens at times. And it did for me last week when I was making these rolls. No cinnamon sticks. No powdered cinnamon. Zilch cinnamon. And I realised it after I had rolled out the dough, and reached for my bottle of cinnamon powder! I had to improvise. Right then at that. It was a couple of days after I had made the Mocha brownies. And I had some of the cocoa-brown sugar mix left. And on a whim, I added a largish pinch of allspice powder and a teeny weeny pinch (is that what they say smidgen for?) of dry ginger powder. I added a good amount of wonderful dark 70% chocolate, chopped roughly into chunks and voila! I had the mix ready for my hot chocolate rolls!

The rolls taste very very indulgent, but when you read through the recipe, you’ll realise how much goodness is packed into these! The hubby and I enjoyed these plain and the kiddo had it with homemade strawberry sauce. I’m sure they’ll taste pretty darn good with a coffee glaze too! Don’t miss making these for anything!

DSC_1669

100% Whole wheat hot chocolate Rolls with dark chocolate chunks

(Makes about 14 rolls – enough to fill one 8″ x 8″ pan plus some more)

Ingredients:

100% Whole wheat flour – 3 ¼ cup

Cashew milk – 1 ½ cups (see note)

Salt – ¼ tsp

Jaggery – 1 tbsp

Instant yeast – ½ tsp

Oil – 1 tbsp + 2 tsp

Dark chocolate – about 60-70 gm, chopped into chunks

For the hot chocolate filling: Mix together,

Fine Demerara or brown sugar – 2 tbsp

Cocoa powder – 2 tsp

Allspice – a pinch (you could use cinnamon powder too)

Ginger powder – a pinch (optional)

NOTE:

To make cashew milk, soak a handful of cashews in water for a few hours and grind into a smooth paste with the water. Add as much water as is required to make cashew milk of desired thickness

You could use whole milk too, but cashew milk adds a beautiful dimension to the rich taste of these rolls

Method:

To make the dough: Take the flour, yeast and salt in a wide bowl. Mix the jaggery into the cashew milk will well dissolved. Add the milk into the flour and mix with a large wooden spoon.

Once the dough starts coming together, add 1 tbsp oil and knead well. Form into a ball and place it in a greased container

The first rise:

Cover up the container and keep int the refrigerator overnight. Take the vessel containing the dough out of the fridge the next morning and leave it on the counter to let it almost double – this might take between an hour to 5-6 hours, given the fact that there is very less yeast

The shaping and the second rise:

Once the dough has nearly doubled up, roll the dough out into a thin large rectangle. Somehow, I can never roll out a rectangle. It is always a haphazard oval. Doesn’t matter: you’ll get some funny shaped end pieces in the bargain that you can keep for yourself!

Spread the oil on top of the rolled out dough. You could use butter if you wish. Sprinkle the hot cocoa mix all over. Do the same with the cocoa chunks

Now roll up the dough along its length and pinch down the dough after every turn. It won’t be an easy task considering there’ll be chunks of chocolate at all inconvenient points. Of course, you could pop a few into your mouth as you go along!

Pinch seal the ends of the dough when you’ve rolled it all up

Cut into 1.5 inch rolls and place in a greased baking pan. I baked 9 in one 8-inch square pan and 6 in a round 7-inch pan. If you like, you can place all the pieces in a square 9 inch pan. But the rolls tend to stick together as they rise and somehow I prefer round rolls to squarish tall rolls!

Cover with a thin kitchen towel/towels and set aside for 30-45 minutes till they puff up

Baking the rolls: 

Preheat the oven to 180 deg C and then bake the rolls for around 20-25 mins till golden-brown on top

You could pour over any sort of glaze on top of the rolls while they are still somewhat warm if you prefer

DSC_1665

6 thoughts on “100% whole wheat Hot chocolate rolls with dark chocolate chunks

  1. Pingback: 100% Whole wheat sandwich loaf 2 – with orange juice | foodiliciousnan

Leave a Reply

