Cakes & Cookies

Torcettini di St Vincent

Torcettini

Torcettini

No cookie could ever get cuter. Or be easy pick-me-ups at a party, even where there are kids! It was the last week of April and I was to leave for a nice long vacation to Pune and Mahabaleshwar. It was to be a big family get-together at Pune. My nephews (five naughty fellows in the 5-15 age-group) were to be there. And they always pull me into the kitchen, offering to look after my li’l fellow while I bake some treat for them. And I love to pamper them. It also gives me a chance to bake, an activity I love. I normally have something ready on hand to offer to them too. This time I was planning to bake their much-loved chocolate chip cookies (of which I have a modified version with raisins – Butter Raisin cookies – here on the blog). I had planned in advance and kept all the ingredients ready (I manage that at times too!) to bake that afternoon. I checked the phone for mail alerts, only to see half-a-dozen blogger friends posting pics of this cute little sugar-coated cookie, a yeasted one at that! I changed my plan that very instant and scurried into the kitchen to proof some yeast.

Torcettini

Torcettini

The cookies were awesome. I made a double batch the following day and sent some over for my parents. I also made one batch with chocolate chip in it, omitting the lemon zest altogether. Those were a BIG hit with the kids. I’ve made these several times over since then and it has always been received well even by kids, thanks in part to the sugar-crusted tops. I’ll leave it to the experts for the recipe as well as more on the origins of this cookie. If you need any push to make these, I can tell you that these are so totally light and crunchy and guilt-free as cookies can get! This post is for the A-Z series Blogging Marathon for the month of Sept. Alphabet – T, Theme – Baking. Check out the Blogging Marathon page for the other Blogging Marathoners doing BM# 32 BM Logo courtesy : Preeti For recipes from my fellow bloggers that start with T, click on the link below:

16 thoughts on “Torcettini di St Vincent

  1. Though these cookies came out nicely, I don’t think I will be making these again…But hold on, my husband loved it, so might make it again for all I know!

Leave a Reply

