Uncategorized

Strawberry Tea

Strawberry tea

Strawberry tea

We holidayed in Mahabaleshwar in May this year. It is a quaint temple town that is also the strawberry capital of India and is a four-hour drive from Pune (in the western state of Maharashtra). As you near the town, you cross very many strawberry farms with vendors selling strawberries piled high on makeshift stalls. It is all such a beautiful sight. We bought strawberries by the kilo on the way to our resort and finished it all during our three-day stay there.

Couldn't resist taking shots of the beautiful red strawberries in the resort room

Couldn’t resist taking shots of the beautiful red strawberries in the resort room

Fresh Strawberry Ice-cream at Mapro Farm in Mahabaleshwar

Fresh Strawberry Ice-cream at Mapro Farm in Mahabaleshwar

We also bought many more kilograms of this red sweet berry to take back home and to pass on friends, neighbours and colleagues at work. Well, the pass-on never happened! And I happily used the lovely strawberries to make everything I could think of – ice-cream, sauce, compote, milkshakes, juice, mousse and this tea.

Fresh Strawberry & Mulberry Mousse

Fresh Strawberry & Mulberry Mousse

Funnily, it never struck me to use the chopped fruit in a cake, even though I used up a lot of frozen pulp to make jelly frosting for cupcakes and cakes!

Isn't it a lovely teapot?

Isn’t it a lovely teapot?

Strawberry tea. Fruity. Fresh. Delightfully red

Strawberry tea. Fruity. Fresh. Delightfully red

This tea was offered as a welcome drink at the resort where we stayed. I didn’t take to it so much even though everyone else asked for a refill a second and even third time. Before leaving the resort, I went up to the chef and shamelessly asked for the recipe so I could make this for hubby and nephews once back home. The chef was kind enough the share it with me. I made this a couple of times at home and people quite loved it. Although it is supposed to be served hot, I realised I loved it cold. Make it either way you like. Also note, that the chef urged me to use ready-made strawberry crush, but I used fresh strawberry pulp since I wanted to make the most of our purchase.

Leaves and stems removed, the strawberries are ready to be pulped

Leaves and stems removed, the strawberries are ready to be pulped

Fresh Strawberry pulp

Fresh Strawberry pulp, seeds intact. Please don’t strain them in your bakes and desserts. They give such a lovely texture to the finished dish

Strawberry Tea

(Makes 1 large cup)

Ingredients:

Earl Grey – ½ tsp (or any other mild black tea of your choice)

Water – 1 cup

Strawberry crush – 2 tbsp

Sugar – to taste

Method:

Brew tea the way you normally would. I boil water and take it off heat, add tea leaves, give it a stir and cover it with a lid for about half a minute. The, I strain the leaves and add sugar

Add strawberry crush. Mix well and serve hot. I prefer to cool it to room temperature and chill it in the fridge for a while and drinking it cold

strawberry tea

This post is for the A-Z series Blogging Marathon for the month of Sept. Alphabet – S, Theme – Fusion. Check out the Blogging Marathon page for the other Blogging Marathoners doing BM# 32

BM

Logo courtesy : Preeti

For recipes from my fellow bloggers that start with S, click on the link below:

14 thoughts on “Strawberry Tea

  1. omg thats a very very innovative and super refreshing tea 🙂 So delicious and kudos to you to try the recipe at home after just tasting it and asking the chef for the recipe dear 🙂 N so nice of the chef who shared the recipe with you ..

  2. Oh..with BM, I have learnt about a blue tea( PJ’s), a purple hibiscus tea (I am yet to post it) and now a red strawberry tea..Woould never have thought to make any of these tea by myself :-). If I get strwberry crush sometime, will def try this at least once..

Leave a Reply

