Cakes & Cookies

Fig & Walnut Muffins – Low fat & Eggless

Low-fat Fig & Walnut Muffins

Low-fat Fig & Walnut Muffins

Me: I’ve got something for you to try

Hubby: Not another muffin I hope

Me: (Hurt look) I thought you love my muffins!

Hubby: Yes, I love them…but muffins again?!

Me: Yes. But this one’s really good…you’ll love…

And to think bakers and food bloggers have a ball all the time! I’m so full tasting sometimes, that I use my family as tasters for new recipes/experiments, which keep happening all the time. If not my hubby, then friends and nephews. There are as many hits as misses! I’d like to place this recipe somewhere in between.

If you mix up the batter carefully, you’ll be rewarded with soft, full-bodied muffins that have a lovely crunchy crust when right out of the oven, which is a wonderful thing in a muffin, considering there is just 2 tbsp fat divided between 12 of these! If you’re planning to serve it later, sprinkle a little extra sugar on top and bake in a preheated oven for 5-10 minutes, taking care not to burn/over-brown them.

So, if you remember, this month I’m blogging alphabetically as part of the Blogging Marathon organised by Valli each month. Today is Day 6, alphabet – F, dish – Fig & Walnut Muffins and the theme’s Baking (and that’s also the name of the book from which I’ve taken this recipe!)

Low fat Fig & Walnut muffins

Low fat Fig & Walnut muffins

Fig and Walnut Muffins -Low fat, Eggless

Ingredients:

Sunflower oil – 2tbsp

APF/Maida – 250 gm (9 oz)

Baking soda – 1 tsp

Salt – ½ tsp

Raw sugar – 225 gm (I used organic brown sugar)

Dried figs (chopped) – 85 gm (3 oz)

Walnuts – 115 gm (4 oz or ½ cup)

Water – 200 ml

Almond extract – 1 tsp (I used Almond Essence)

Chopped walnuts – 2 tsp (to decorate). I topped the muffins with demerara sugar for a crunchy top

Method:

Line a 12-cup muffin tray with liners or oil them

Sift flour, baking soda and salt in a bowl. Add sugar and mix

In another bowl, mix figs and almonds. Add sunflower oil, water and almond extract

Add this fruit and nut wet mixture to the flour mixture and stir gently. Do not over mix. It is okay if batter if lumpy. Over mixing will cause your muffins to turn out chewy and hard

Preheat oven to 190 deg C (see Notes)

Divide batter equally among the 12 muffin cases (around 2/3 full)

Bake for 25 mins or until risen and golden

Remove from oven and serve warm or cool on a wire rack

Notes:

Since my oven has 175 deg and 200 deg options, I baked at 175 deg C for 30 mins

I replaced the almonds in the original recipe with walnuts. You could you any other nut of your choice

————-

This is post for Day 6 of the A-Z series Blogging Marathon for the month of Sept. Check out the Blogging Marathon page for the other Blogging Marathoners doing BM# 32

BM

Logo courtesy : Preeti

 

20 thoughts on “Fig & Walnut Muffins – Low fat & Eggless

  1. The crust on the top has come out quite well..and yes finding the appr testers are so important for us!..in baking if it’s not chocolate, kids won’t even touch..that’s when it becomes tough for me…others don’t eat bakes..:(..anyway I manage to convince somebody or the other..

  2. Is it from the baking book (can see it in the background :D)? I think it looks good and its great that you have so many willing guinea pigs for your muffins :)))

  3. Love the crust Nandini. Finding a tester is really difficult.My kids eat only chocolates and bakes [without a need to be prompted] so have to rely on MIL and hubby for the rest..

  4. i know the challenge, in getting someone to try a recipe, if i declare it is an experiement, i can expect instant rebuke. Your combination of flavors is beautiful here and they look very homely comforty ones

Leave a Reply

