Cakes & Cookies

Corn Muffins

DSC_0670

Kids can be so hard to please. But also so easy to please when there’s some chocolate around. My 5-year-old nephew will refuse to drink his glass of milk in the evening even if it’s got some Bournvita mixed in. But he’ll beg me to make some ‘Cold Chocolate’ each time he comes to visit us.

I was once left with some chocolate ganache after icing a batch of cupcakes for an order. This little fellow was throwing his standard evening “I-don’t want-to-drink-milk” that evening and my mother-in-law was trying to cajole him into drinking it somehow. An idea struck then and I simply whirred his milk with a nice big dollop of the ganache and served him the frothy deliciousness in a tall glass. Needless to say the fellow happily downed it all.

Now, each time he comes over, he asks for the same. Now one doesn’t have ganache sitting in the refrigerator always, right? Next closest thing? Melted chocolate+2 biscuits (any variety)+sugar to taste+milk all zapped together for a minute in the blender!

Weekends are also when I get time to take orders (Btw I have a small home business making baked goods on order called Lotsa Lavender). So this fellow sees me make something or the other and begs to be given all that stuff. And so, the other day, I was trying my hand at a new corn muffin recipe when this guy barged into the kitchen.

“What are you making chitti (aunt)?”

“Umm…corn muffins”

“What is that?”

“They look like the vanilla cupcakes I make for you, but they’re not sweet”

“Ok. So can you make some of this corn stuff for me too?”

“But I’m not sure you’ll like it dear. There’s no vanilla or chocolate in it”

“Oh! Just add some chocolate to it and make it for me then”

And he gave me one of his sweet smiled and walked out of the kitchen.

Well, I won’t say this muffin recipe is ideal for chocolate conversion. It is mildly salted, somewhat like a plain bun/pav/dinner roll. But I think it’ll adapt well to savoury additions, say grated cheese, chopped spinach, and chopped green chillies and the like. I ate it with tomato chutney.

So what did I do for the little guy? Well, thankfully it was one of those days I had some chocolate ganache to spare J

In case any of you is interested in knowing, I got this recipe from another book that I saw at the book fair where I picked up the vintage baking book from which I’d made the Apricot Coffee Bread. It looked interesting, so I jotted the recipe down on a scrap of paper when no one was looking. Does that make me bad?

Corn Muffins

Ingredients:

Corn meal/flour (makki ka atta) -125 gm (1 ¼ cup)

Whole wheat flour – 75 gm (3/4 cup)

Baking powder – 1 tbsp

Brown sugar – 1 tbsp

Salt – 1 tsp

Egg – 1 (I used ¼ cup thick curd instead)

Milk – 250 ml (1 cup)

Corn oil – 2 tbsp (I used sunflower oil)

Toasted sesame seeds – 2 tbsp (I forgot this!)

Method:

Mix the two flours, baking powder, sugar and salt

Make a well in the centre and add the egg (curd in my case), milk and oil

Beat well using a whisk or an electric beater to form a batter

Pour into lined muffin tray

Bake @180 deg C for 20 mins or untill the muffins have risen and browned

Remove from tray and cool on a wire rack

These Corn Muffins have been filed under alphabet C of the A-Z blogging for September BM under baked category

BM

Logo created by: Preeti

Check out the Blogging Marathon page for the other Blogging Marathoners doing BM# 32

Recipes by other bloggers starting with C is here

27 thoughts on “Corn Muffins

  1. That’s one delicious version of corn muffin Nandini..I have something similar made with cheese..:)..I won’t mind trying this again though..Coming to the kids part, my kids are always asking for something with chocolate ..and can eat/drink if it is one..kids are so same I guess

    • Chocolate and kids go hand in hand…i know they’re all so similar. Can see that from the number of chocolate posts you have 🙂 Btw loved your chocolate tarts. Somehow wasn’t able to post comments on that one

  2. Corn muffins look yumm!! I like them lots of green onions and cheddar cheese — delicious!!
    I’m that crazy person who takes pictures of recipes from books with my phone at the checkout counter.. sorry — person behind me 🙂

  3. Your muffins have minimal sugar that is good for me. Looks soft and nice. I am sure some colourful veggies would taste and look good in it too.

  4. Next time, just click with your phone instead of writng in a paper ;-)…Anyway, corn muffins look perfect to take in some cheese, capsicum and all things savory (these can be cheesy pizza style muffins 🙂 )

  5. Well Nandin your muffin looks great. I love it I am going to look for makai ka atta can make it for daughters tiffin. onion and cheese. 🙂
    Love the antics of your nephew it will not be long when baby Choo starts the same antics. And I have started clicking the pic of recipes did it in the library recently. We are of the same kind. What say Pavani

Leave a Reply

