Pickles/Powders/Chutneys

BAHARAT – Arabic 7 Spice Mix

BAHARAT - Arabic 7 Spice Blend

BAHARAT – Arabic 7 Spice Blend

Yesterday I blogged about an Apricot-chocolate chip loaf, a rich baked quick bread. Today, there’s an Arabic spice mix from the other end of the spectrum to give your dishes an international flavour.

When my parents went to the US a few months ago on a holiday, I shamelessly gave them a looooongish list of stuff to buy for me. No fancy trinkets, cosmetics or Apple products, mind you. The list contained loads of foody things one wouldn’t find easily in India. Right from Dutch-processed cocoa, Ghirardelli chocolate chips to medium-sized Bundt pans and Allspice!

I’ve seen such a lot of recipes in blogosphere with this ingredient called Allspice, mostly baked goodies, and I was really looking forward to trying this thing out. But once in my hand, I was really at a loss to locate suitable recipes to try with it. Pumpkin pie, which uses allspice pretty commonly, really doesn’t catch my fancy. Pumpkin pie lovers out there, sorry! But pumpkin in a pie??? Seriously??? Not for me for sure! And I really do love Apple and cinnamon to try replacing cinnamon for allspice in apple-based bakes. Someday, maybe. Or, may not be.

And so I was in the midst of an allspice dilemma when I chanced upon an article in the Sunday supplement of a newspaper about an Arabic spice called Baharat. The article talked about how Baharat was an all-purpose sort of spice in Arabic cuisine and used quite commonly across the middle-east and northern Africa. The ingredients were quite similar to what would go into our own Garam Masala, except for quite some doze of nutmeg and, hold your breath, allspice!

And that’s how I ran straight into my kitchen, it being a lazy Sunday afternoon (yes; that does happen sometime, even to the mom of a 16-month-old hyperactive boy!) to get this done right away! No thought of what I’d use it for even came to my mind. It halved the proportions given, as I normally do with any recipe I’m attempting for the first time. It got done in less than 15 minutes and did smell divine. I looked up Google for recipes to use this in.

Baharat

In a marinade for grilled chicken, ideal for kebabs, mutton biryani (yes!)…ummm . Ok. But nothing vegetarian??!! And then I started breaking my head over how to use this up! Anyway, necessity is the mother of all invention, and rightly said! A few days later, I was preparing some gravy dish and realised I’d run out of garam masala. On a whim I added Baharat in its place. The dish turned out wonderful. I wouldn’t say the taste differed greatly than when I use garam masala, but there sure was a subtle unmistakable new flavour in there that everyone relished.

 Incidentally, there are many versions of this spice mix as one traverses across the middle-east, with some including saffron, rose petals and even mint. This is a basic version. And interestingly, it has eight ingredients even though it is referred to as a 7-spice mix!

BAHARAT

Ingredients:

Black peppercorns – 2 tbsp

Coriander seeds – 2tbsp

Cumin seeds – 2 tbsp

Allspice – 1 tbsp

Cardamom seeds – 1 tsp

Whole cloves – ½ tsp

Cinnamon sticks – 4 x 3-inch sticks

Sweet paprika – 2 tbsp (I used regular Kashmiri chilli powder). Grated nutmeg – 1 tsp

Method:

Grind all whole spices using a mortar and pestle, if possible

Add paprika and nutmeg and mix well

Store in an airtight container

PS:

  1. While I and-pounded everything with a mortar and pestle, I found it difficult to powder the coriander seeds and cinnamon that way. So I ground them in a mixer-grinder and added to the rest
  2. Upon Googling, I also found that the spices are normally dry roasted first to bring out the flavours, just the way it is with garam masala

BM

Logo created by: Preeti

Check out the Blogging Marathon page for the other Blogging Marathoners doing BM# 32

Recipes by other bloggers starting with B is here

31 thoughts on “BAHARAT – Arabic 7 Spice Mix

  1. relished in which dish? i mean where did you use this flavorful masala…or is that another alphabet 🙂 i loved the way you have presented this picture, and am so envious that you got so many things from the US 🙂

  2. I love the flavor of Baharat but lucky enough to be able to buy it at the market although I am sure the freshly ground one must be so much more flavorful. Just so you know I also use it when roasting vegetables. In fact, here are a few recipes from my blog using Baharat – all vegetarian – http://gourmetglobal.blogspot.com/search?q=baharat
    also just so you know we use allspice a lot in the Caribbean and it is so versatile as it can be used in both sweet and savory but in sweet dishes it does need to be balanced with something more traditional like cinnamon or nutmeg. However we use it when making soup and hot sauce so it would probably work great in chutney or achar.. Just some ideas

  3. Lovely clicks 🙂 and yeah my list to my husband also ran long with food related stuff. Next time remember to buy Popsicle molds, you dont get those nice ones here….I too forgot that 😦

  4. Pingback: Za’atar Pita & Salad | foodiliciousnan

  5. Pingback: Simple Vegetable Stew (with Bezar spice) – low oil recipe | foodiliciousnan

  6. Pingback: Bezar spice mix – Arabic/Omani spice mix | foodiliciousnan

Leave a Reply

