Cakes & Cookies

Butter Raisin Cookies

DSC_0037

Every once in a while you come across a recipe that becomes your go-to for all sorts of things. The brownie recipe I’d posted last week is one such. Any chocolate cake needs to be baked, I tweak the brownie recipe. Chocolate cupcakes? Brownie made-to-fit again. These cookies fall into that category. There were originally chocolate chip cookies in the Baking book I refer to every now and then. But I was baking these for my brother who isn’t big on chocolate. He actually dislikes chocolate. Is that even possible, you ask? Sigh! Sadly, yes. Actually, not so sad. Because, growing up, there were no fights at home over who got the last bit of the chocolate in the refrigerator! Tada! I got them always 🙂

So,  I was planning to make some cookies and I thought I’d try the Baking book choco-chip cookie recipe. And I remembered my brother was due for a visit. And i thought the best way to thank him for leaving out all the chocolates for me always, was to replace the chocolate chips in the recipe with raisins, which, incidentally, my brother loves. So, here’s a kid-approved (although a grown-up one!) buttery and light butter-raisin cookie recipe for you to try out! The best part is that this one gets done in a jiffy, less than 15 minutes of preparation plus baking time.

This is my third entry for Week 4 of BM #28, themed under sweet treats for Kids. Also linking it to Valli’s Kids Delight being hosted by Sowmya. Another kid-friendly sweet treat that I posted last week was a Very Berry Mousse.

Butter Raisin Cookie

(makes more than 2 dozen medium sized cookies)

Ingredients:

APF – 175 gm

Baking powder – 1 tsp

Butter – 125 gm (recipe asks for soft margarine)

Soft brown sugar – 85 gm (recipe asks for light muscovado sugar)

Caster sugar – 55 gm

Vanilla extract – 1/2 tsp

Egg – 1 (I used 1 tbsp flax seed meal mixed with 3 tsp warm water)

Raisins – 1/4 cup

Unsalted butter – for greasing

Method:

Lightly grease a baking tray

Place all ingredients in a large bowl and mix thoroughly

Place tablespoons of the mixture on the tray spaced wide apart (actually mine dis not spread so much!)

Bake in a preheated oven @175 deg for 12-15 minutes* till cookies turn golden brown

Transfer cookies to a wire rack to cool completely

Store in an airtight container.

*The recipe calls for baking at 190 deg C for 10-12 minutes, but my oven has only 25 deg increments, so it is 175 deg, or 200 deg and i choose to go with 175

7 thoughts on “Butter Raisin Cookies

  1. Pingback: Oreo Brownies! | foodiliciousnan

  2. Pingback: Torcettini di St Vincent | foodiliciousnan

Leave a Reply

