Uncategorized

Jewelled Picture Frames

DSC_3003

I was at a loss of what to present to my dad for his 60th birthday. There are tonnes of things you can buy off the shelves, but I wanted to make something myself. Mind you, I’m not a gifted person in the creative department. That’s when my mother-in-law dug out this old calendar. Yes, This is actually a large calendar. The photograph part alone is 3 feet by 2 feet. I decorated it with jewelled stones and sequins and glued it on with fabric glue. I do not have any proper picture of the whole thing. But this was so well recieved and loved by everyone who saw it that I’ve made it twice since with other pictures, even bigger than this one!

DSC_0571

The frame is quite solid considering the size of the picture. We framed it in Tanjore Painting style. This particular style id called Tanjore Chettinad frame. The whole thing comes almost as high as my shoulders! I know that says a lot about my height too 🙂

DSC_0608-001

I’ve stuck small artificial gems on all the jewellery of the Krishna and Radha as well as decorated their clothes with sequins.

Close-up of Krishna

Close-up of Krishna

Close-up of Radha

Close-up of Radha

In one of the frames, I have stuck sequins even on the flowers, plants and everything else. It looks really grand. What do you think?

DSC_0615

This is probably one of the few posts on this blog without a recipe. A the good news for those of you who read my blog is, I’m planning to extend this respite for the next few days as well 🙂 I’m going to be sharing some creative stuff over the next few days. Of course, this blog can never be off food for too long. So there will be a couple of recipes too. This is my first post for Week 4 of BM27 which is a month-long blogging event this month and this week is all about Creative stuff.

13 thoughts on “Jewelled Picture Frames

  1. beautiful nandini–half tanjavur painter u have become!

    On Fri, 26 Apr 2013 00:20:02 +0530 wrote >

    a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; }

    /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com

    foodiliciousnan posted: ”

    I was at a loss of what to present to my dad for his 60th birthday. There are tonnes of things you can buy off the shelves, but I wanted to make something myself. Mind you, I’m not a gifted person in the creative department. That’s when my mother-in-l”

  2. It looks so beautiful Nandini, I have saved up many such calenders, hoping I might do something like this later..though I have hardly ever got them out again..you have done a marvellous job on it.

  3. This looks so impressive! The frame, the picture, the decorations…hard to believe its handmade.
    I loved Radha’s decoration the most. It looks so beautiful!

Leave a Reply

