Uncategorized

Decorated Trays

DSC_0711

My cousin is bigtime into crafting and makes a whole lot of things, from Tanjore paintings and satin quilted cushions to paper quilling craft and stuffed toys. For my father’s sashtiabdapoorthi (60th birthday celebrations) earlier this year she had made a whole lot of handmade decorated trays for various purposes.

Tray to hold flowers - again, made by my cousin

Tray to hold flowers –  made by my cousin

Thali/Mangalsutra tray - cousin's creation

Thali/Mangalsutra tray – cousin’s creation

She had also made a big banner with Paper Quilling craft.

Banner with Paper Quilling work made by my cousin

Banner with Paper Quilling work made by my cousin

It really set me off on the creative path. The bead jewellery thing that ade soposted about also came about after this. Inspired by her, I too decorated a small tray. It is actually an old plate that was rusting and sitting useless in the cupboard. I first painted it over with fabric paints (Fevicryl, the metallic finish ones). I let it dry for one whole day. The next day I stuck some pretty little artificial gems along the rim of the tray as well as some bigger mirror bits and sequins along the inside rim of the plate.

CSC_0714

The painting took me about an hour and the decoration, about an hour and a half. Such a beautiful thing and it is so easy to make. I felt really happy at having made this. We used this tray to keep the chandan-kumkum at the mandap (function hall) entrance during my li’l boy’s Ayusha Homam (first birthday).

This is my third entry for Week 4 of BM27 which is a month-long blogging event this month. I’ll be posting a few more ‘handmade’ crafty things plus a couple of recipes this week. See you tomorrow!

12 thoughts on “Decorated Trays

  1. nice crafts

    On Fri, 26 Apr 2013 14:08:21 +0530 wrote >

    a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; }

    /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com

    foodiliciousnan posted: ”

    My cousin is bigtime into crafting and makes a whole lot of things, from Tanjore paintings and satin quilted cushions to paper quilling craft and stuffed toys. For my father’s sashtiabdapoorthi (60th birthday celebrations) earlier this year she had ma”

Leave a Reply

