Uncategorized

Bead Jewellery


DSC_0702

 

I’ve wanted to do stuff of this sort for a really long time. The idea first stuck me when I saw a cute little simple strand of pink beads strung in a baby pink coloured ribbon at a big brand retail chain priced at Rs 350. I know these places are overpriced but this was too much. Since then I was thinking I must try my hands at something.

I bought some beads from the gypsies (korathi) who dot the Besant Nagar beach in Chennai. I’ve strung them in Anchor Kit threads. I used some plain coloured ones as well as some muticoloured ones. I doubled the threads and plaited them too.

DSC_0703

I gifted a pink set similar to the one on the left but with somewhat smaller beads to my neighbour’s daughter on her birthday (she’s 6 years old) and she loved it. I’ve used thread for the bracelet too in the a few, but I later realised elastic thread works best for bracelet as it is flexible. And do you know where I got elastic threads from? Baggage tags that we use for hand luggage during air travel!

DSC_0679

This thing is so addictive. I’ve bought lots more beads and am forever thinking about which beads will match well together. Try your hands at this and you’ll really enjoy it.

This is my second post for Week 4 of BM27 which is a month-long blogging event this month. I’m going to be posting lots of creative things over the next few days. So be tuned in!

15 thoughts on “Bead Jewellery

  1. creative and funky. son allowing u 2 do all this–good

    On Fri, 26 Apr 2013 00:50:44 +0530 wrote >

    a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; }

    /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com

    foodiliciousnan posted: ”

    I’ve wanted to do stuff of this sort for a really long time. The idea first stuck me when I saw a cute little simple strand of pink beads strung in a baby pink coloured ribbon at a big brand retail chain priced at Rs 350. I know these plac”

  2. My mother has a lot of interest in these kind of things – she has made a lot of bangles, necklaces and earrings in traditional pattern. She knits, she has made roses and a whole lot of other things. I am not at all interested in the crafts side :D.

    I like your idea of taking things into your hands and making one yourself :-). Love the braided thread very much!

  3. All the stuff looks so cute Nandini, very smart in using the tags..I remember during our recent trip we got so many bags and I ended up with quite some tags..very smart idea..:)

  4. beautiful!!Nandini..you are so so talented…love all the beads..I really feel happy to see friends with similar passions..I think cooking and craft really go well….keep it up, you can do lots more:))

  5. Very nice and Trendy and creative ideas for many varieties like neckline design Allover Designs, Border and Front Designing beads, motifs, trims, embroidery, ribbon, cording, plassementeries, soutach, guimps, laser cutting, caviar printing, stones & much more.

Leave a Reply

