Fun Food

Chana Jor Chat – Church street chatwala(B’lore) style

Chana Jor Garam Chaat

Chana Jor Garam Chaat

I have wonderful memories of street snacking at Bangalore. That’s actually funny coming from someone who grew up in Delhi, which, according to me, is the street food capital of India! I’m sure there are going to be lots of people saying, “Nooooo! Mumbai/Ahmedabad/Hyderabad/Calcutta (etc…etc…) is the chaat capital of India!”. But, of course, this is my blog and so I can get away with saying (and claiming!) lotsa stuff 🙂

Anyway, I’ve eaten loads of chaat in Delhi while in college. My bunch of friends and I used to roam about aimlessly and window-shop like crazy those days. And since we were forever on a budget ( a tight one at that), all we could afford was chaats off street shops. And not that we complained! There was the most awesome bhel puri seller right outside our college, the momos guy in GK II market, the chaat shop at South Ex (was it I or II? I don’t remember!), the fruit beer at Dilli Haat (not strictly a street chaat) and loads and loads of other places.

But it was at Bangalore that I indulged in street foods like crazy. I worked evening shifts: I logged in at around 4.30 pm and got back home around 1 am. Work was sluggish till about 6 pm. So, a few co-workers and I, we used to roam all around MG Road, , Briage Road, Church Street and Commercial Street, scanning for street food stalls. And there was no dearth of them. I particularly loved the sev puri guy who stood right outside our office (I’ll post about it soon) and this chana jor chaat guy on Church Street (almost at the Church Street-Brigade Road junction).

DSC_0624

Basically chana jor is nothing but little disks of deep fried black chickpeas. The chickpeas are boiled till soft and then smashed to make small disks and then deep fried. This is called chana jor. This is normally mixed with spice powders like amchur (dried mango powder), red chilli powder etc., but that isn’t a must. The chaat is made simply by mixing the chana jor with chopped tomatoes and onions and adding a dash of lemon juice. You could add red chili powder or finely chopped green chilies if you wish. This is a breeze to put together and can be made in a couple of minutes if you have readymade chana jor. Try it and you’ll want it every day like I did when in Bangalore 🙂

DSC_0626

This was the first thing that came to my mind when Valli announced her BM#26 with Street Foods as one of the themes.

Chana Jor Chaat – Church Street chaatwala style

You’ll need:
Chana Jor
Chopped tomatoes
Chopped onions
A dash of lime
Red chilipowder/Finely-chopped green chilies(optional)

Just mix everything together and serve on sheets of magazine paper. Eat with your hands and go mmmm…

7 thoughts on “Chana Jor Chat – Church street chatwala(B’lore) style

Leave a Reply

