Cakes & Cookies

Cupcake Sandwich

Sitting pretty on a platter

Sitting pretty on a platter

Sandwiched!

Sandwiched!

Phew! I’ve never worked so much with chocolate. I’ve melted slab upon 1/2 kg slab of chocolate, both dark and white, in the last one week. Five slabs so far and many more to go. Reason being my little son’s first birthday next week. So there are boxes upon boxes of moulded chocolates waiting to be packed.

Then I experimented with a few new vanilla cake recipes. You can’t leave it to providence to help you get it right on d-day, right? So, I tried. Then I tried harder. It is funny how I just couldn’t get the very basic things right! Perfect cake recipe not in place? No worries. “Let me try my hands at cake decoration instead while I keep searching for better recipes for the cake,” I thought.

Can't work on your cupcake decoration? Tie them up with a bow!

Can’t work on your cupcake decoration? Tie them up with a bow!

Those choco chips peeping out look pretty, don't they?

Those choco chips peeping out look pretty, don’t they?

So, last weekend, I started with the star tip on a crumbling cupcake that was fighting hard to keep shape. My nephew simply turned up his nose at the crazily-decorated stuff I offered to him. It took a lot of coaxing to get him to even taste it.

“Aunty, I like the icing. But why’re you wasting time in trying to make designs on the muffin? Just cut it up and make a sandwich with the icing. It will look better that way.” Lesson learnt: five-year-olds are a smart lot. So here’s some cupcake sandwich. Next time you’re struggling with decorating a cupcake or are short on time, you know exactly what to do!

DSC_0544-001

Btw, if any of you have fool-proof vanilla sponge/cake/cupcake recipes (without condensed milk), please leave the recipe or link in the comments. I’ll try them out! on

This is my first entry this week for Blogging Marathon (Edition 26, Week 2), Stay tuned for other sandwiches without bread!

Cupcake sandwich
Ingredients:
Cupcakes – 4
Cocoa powder – 2 tbsp
Powdered sugar* – 5-6 tbsp (plus or minus some depending on how sweet you want it and how sweet your cupcakes are)
Butter (softened) – 1 tbsp
Dark cooking chocolate – 30-40 gms
Milk – 1 tbsp

Method:
Halve the cupcakes and keep aside
Sift cocoa powder and sugar together
Melt chopped chocolate in a double boiler or in a microwave in 10 second increments on medium power
Mix butter and melted chocolate and add it to cocoa-sugar. Mix thoroughly
Add milk a teaspoon at a time to get the consistency you desire**
Apply on cupcake bottom and sandwich with the top halves
Dig in!
Notes:
* I used sugar powdered at home without sieving it. It gives a crunchy effect that we love. But
use icing sugar instead if you want a smooth filling
** I made a thick filling and used just 1 tsp

I’ll you with some images of some of the cupcakes that turned out ok, sans decoration of course!
Disclaimer: These are purely for post-beautification purpose. Any distraction from my culinary disasters are purely incidental

DSC_0523-001

DSC_0532

DSC_0513-001

17 thoughts on “Cupcake Sandwich

  1. this looks sinful….make every effort that you can, to make it special for baby choo…he deserves his special day to be remembered for years to come…am sure you are going crazy but at the end of it you will find it satisfying

  2. OMG – what a great idea – I can’t imagine any kid not going ga-ga over this. I wanted to pick this category but my brain couldn’t think of anything. This is so creative.

  3. Sandwich with cupcakes is definitely a brilliant idea — I’m sure only 5 year olds can come up with such unique ideas. I totally suck at decorating too, I wish I can take a class or something before my daughter’s first b’day.

Leave a Reply

