Breakfast/Tiffin items

Creamed Carrot Soup

CSC_1991CSC_1985
It is carrot season in Delhi. The markets are flooded with lovely red carrots. I like carrots, but they’re not my favourite vegetable or anything. But there’s something wonderful that the sight of red carrot mountains at the subzi mandi (vegetable market) evokes in me. It reminds me of my childhood, of winter and a warm bowl of fresh gajar ka halwa (carrot pudding) made by ma.

I really wish this post was about gajar ka halwa. Actually, I wish I was digging into it instead of being riddled by nostalgia and craving for it! Instead, this post is about carrot soup. I’m not a fan of carrot soup. Now that I think about it, I don’t think I’ve seen carrot soup at any restaurant. But I did end up making carrot-red pepper soup once and did quite like it too. At times I think I’m the biggest fan of my own cooking!)

Anyway, this particular soup came about because there were two cooked uneaten carrots at home when one fine day my carrot-loving toddler refused to have anything to do with them. I was wondering how to use them up for dinner when I thought of how creamy the Pasta with Creamed Vegetables had turned out a few months ago. I decided to try making the soup in the same way I’d made the sauce for the pasta. Even my usually reticent (in these matters) father-in-law said the soup was good. It really lit me up! The next day Valli announced her themes for December edition of Blogging Marathon and I chose Cooking Carrots in three different ways as this soup was a perfect fit.

Creamed Carrot Soup
(Makes around 2 cups)

Ingredients:
Carrot – 2 (large)
Whole wheat flour – 1 tbsp
Milk – 1 cup
Butter – 2 tsp
Black Pepper – 1/4 tsp (coarsely pounded)
Herbs – 2 big pinches (I used a bit of dried rosemary and oregano
Salt

Method:
Cook carrots till soft and mushy. Puree and keep aside
Mix whole wheat flour in ¼ cup water into a smooth batter without any lumps
Heat butter in a pan and add flour paste
Keep sautéing so that it doesn’t stick to the bottom of the pan
When it starts to thicken and leave the pan around the edges, add in the milk and pureed cooked carrots
Mix well and bring to a boil
Remove from heat and add herbs and salt and serve

12 thoughts on “Creamed Carrot Soup

  1. I am the biggest fan of my cooking most of the days! :D. There is a carrot coriander soup available, but I dont like it a single bit. But your version looks nice, the clicks are really beautiful.

Leave a Reply

