Breakfast/Tiffin items / Pasta

Pasta Upma

I’d set my heart on preparing a sort of upma with cous cous and oven-roasted vegetables for Day three of Blogging Marathon. To my consternation, the cous cous proved elusive. It remained out of stock at all the three gourmet stores near my place for the last two weeks. I then thought of attempting the same with regular upma rava instead of the cous cous but did not manage to buy the vegetables for oven roasting. In the end, I was left scratching my head over what to make!

I was scourging the back shelves of the pantry when I came upon a box with very little elbow pasta left in it. The quantity was ideal for one and since hubby likes pasta only with a ‘proper’ sauce, I decided I’d make a quick upma with the pasta for myself! Although I’ve prepared this at home quite a few times, I’m surprised I haven’t featured it on the blog yet, even though I remember having taken pictures of it on a couple of occassions.

I think this upma will work better with macaroni (thinner and smaller in size) or other smaller pasta shape than the elbow pasta I used today, else I should have made the seasoning stronger. Anyway, it ended up being a hearty evening snack for me today!

This really isn’t a recipe in the sense that you could play around lots with the ingredients, the vegetables and the seasoning. But prepare this in an I’m-hungry-but-don’t-know-what-to-make moment and it’ll satisfy you immensely. While I kept the upma downright basic with just tomatoes and onions, I did add a few pieces of canned jalapeño to pep things up. Feel free to innovate as you go!

Other upma varieties on the blog: 

Vegetable Masala Macaroni

Masala Rice-Poha

Corn Grits (Dalia) Upma

Oats Upma

Sabudana Khichdi (Maharashtrian style)

PASTA UPMA

Ingredients: 

Pasta – ½ cup

Onion – 1

Tomato – 1

Oil – 1 tbsp

Curry leaves – a few

Mustard seeds – ¼ tsp

Ginger – ½ inch pieces (grated)

Green chilli – 1 (finely chopped)

Canned, chopped jalapeño – a few pieces (optional)

Salt

Method:

Cook pasta as per instructions on the packet and keep aside

Heat oil and add mustard seeds

Once mustard stops spluttering, add green chilli, ginger and curry leaves

Add onions and sauté till translucent

Add chopped tomatoes and salt and mix well

Add pasta when tomatoes are somewhat soft

Cook for a few minutes, sautéing every now and then, to let the pasta absorb all the flavours

Remove from heat and add jalapeños if using and serve

5 thoughts on “Pasta Upma

Leave a Reply

