Pickles/Powders/Chutneys

Mixed Nut Butter

I’d been planning and planning and thinking of making almond butter for a very long time. I love peanuts and I love peanut butter and I like the fact that it is so easy to make at home and the fact that it is versatile and does well as a spread on anything, from Marie biscuits (with a dab of Nutella too!), to rotis and breads and even as a filling in biscuits, such as these lovely Peanut Butter Chocolate Cookies.

What I do not like is the fact that with this kind of versatility and ease of preparation, it is easy to also put on weight and struggle with losing it. But that, of course, is a story for another day. Then, while blog hopping one day, I realised that there are butters with all sorts of nuts. My mind went on a nutty joyride and the more I read about it, the more I salivated. I’m a ‘nutty’ kind of girl that way. That, and the fact that we had huge packets of nuts of all sorts at home, should have ensured I plunged into nut butter heaven ages ago.

Mixed Nut Butter/Almond-Walnut-Cashew Butter with Orange Zest

But I’m also a lazy sort of person. One who salivates and dreams more than trying to turn them into reality! And the joyrides remained a fantasy, till last weekend that is. When I finally put on my apron and declared to an empty house that I would get on with the task right then. And I’m so glad I did! And since that happy 15 minutes of easy nut toasting and mixer-grinder running, I’ve been spreading this buttery goodness to make little nut-butter-choco-chip-biscuit-pizza bites and evening sandwiches, making it a perfect Day 3 entry for Srivalli’s Blogging Marathon.

Choco Chip Peanut Butter Biscuit Pizza

Nut Butter with Chocolate & Nuts

It even came in handy a few weekends ago when I’d made 6 chocolate brownie cupcakes that proved to be an insufficient dessert for 12. While I was preparing the icing for the 6 little brown fellows (btw, that was my first attempt at icing), the apartment bell rang to announce six unexpected guests. I cut each cupcake into two, spread this nut butter along with some orange zest on top and the ‘mixed but unbeaten’ royal icing over that and garnished with some choco chips for a fun little dessert.

Now let’s get on with the nut butter recipe.

Mixed Nut Butter 

Ingredients:

Almonds – a heaped ¼ cup

Walnuts – almost ¼ cup

Cashew nuts – a handful

Oil – 1 tsp (I used sunflower oil; you could use olive or canola too)

Note: I used 2 tsp and that made the butter a little ‘runny’. It would be better to add less

Method:

Toast almonds, walnuts and cashews separately

Put the almonds first into the mixer-grinder (or food processor if you have one) and run it till they’re broken down into coarse little bits

Then add walnuts and pulse a coupe of time

Now add the cashews and run the mixer till it starts turning into a paste

Add oil ½ tsp at a time and grind till you get a coarse paste

Store refrigerated in an airtight container

7 thoughts on “Mixed Nut Butter

  1. OMG, all the different ones look so inviting!..very healthy if the kids can get around to eat this..right now my kids don’t eat nuts and that drives me nuts..but surely once they grow up!

  2. Pingback: Dabeli/ Indian Dinner Rolls with spicy potato curry « foodiliciousnan

  3. I am really loving the theme/design of your site.
    Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility problems?
    A handful of my blog audience have complained about my blog
    not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera.
    Do you have any advice to help fix this problem?

Leave a Reply

