Breakfast/Tiffin items / Uncategorized

Bruschetta with Irish Soda Bread

For the next few days, I’m going to be blogging about dishes that are served with spreads and toppings. This is because I’m pariticipating in the Blogging Marathon event started by the energetic Srivalli of Spicingyourlife

My love affair with this romantically named dish started some years ago at a restaurant close to our place. Having heard so much about the bruschetta, I decided to order one when I saw it on the menu. I simply loved it and it has found a permanent place on my favourite starters list whenever we eat out.

We’ve made it a few times at home, just that we have never used the French baguette in the homemade version. We make do with the regular store-bought sliced loaf. But a while ago, when I was visiting my parents in Delhi and made Irish Soda Bread (my only successful savoury bread attempt so far and it is not even yeast bread!), I wondered if I could use a few remaining slices to make bruschetta.

To tell you the truth, I did not find many takers for the soda bread at home. The dense texture was a shocker for my parents, used to soft loaves available in the market. But I really loved it. While it is not the best bet for a raw salad sandwich, it is a good choice for eating with soups. It tastes good toasted, and that it how the idea of making bruschetta with this came about.

I also though it might just be a good way to get my brother to try the bread I’d baked. Most people are nervous preparing food for their picky hubbies or in-laws. I get the heebies jeebies while cooking for my brother! It is tough, getting his nod of approval for any dish. Lest you think he’s some top restaurateur or something, let me clarify. He’s just a young college going brat who is as fussy about food as fussy can get! 

Without any more domestic yarns to torment you with, I’ll get o

Irish Soda Bruschetta topped with grated Parmigiano Reggiano cheese

n to the recipe. Btw, did I mention that my brother just adored the bruschetta?

Bruschetta 

Ingredients:

Bread* – a few slices

Tomatoes (ripe and firm) – 2

Garlic – a few cloves

Butter – enough to brush bread with

Olive Oil – to drizzle

Balsamic Vinegar^ – to drizzle

Mixed dried herbs (optional) – ¼ tsp

Salt

*Traditionally, French baguette (sliced on the diagonal) is used. I used Irish Soda Bread, but any bread will do

^I left this out because I didn’t have any. But it takes the flavour up another notch

 Method:

Finely chop tomatoes and a clove of garlic. Mix

Sprinkle dried herbs and some salt and let it sweat for 15 mins

Brush bread slices with butter

Toast/bake till crisp

Rub a clove of garlic on toasted bread

Top with tomatoes

Drizzle some olive oil and balsamic vinegar and you’re good to go!

10 thoughts on “Bruschetta with Irish Soda Bread

  1. Pingback: foodiliciousnan

Leave a Reply

