Cakes & Cookies

Coffee Cookies with Dark Chocolate Chunks

One of my childhood buddies has come over along with her mum and really talkative nursery-going daughter to spend a few days with me. The last time I met her was three years ago, when her lil one was just a couple of months old. It was my friend who got me addicted to bhel puri (an Indian snack item). She lived just two doors away and we’d spend the evenings discussing God-knows-what for hours on end. She put together a quick and simple bhel for the two of us – using just mur-mura (puffed rice), chopped tomatoes, onions and green chillies and sev (fried gram flour vermicelli).

I have spent countless hours gossiping about friends, neighbours, discussing our latest crush, commenting on clothes worn by passersby, movie stars and all things under the sun with her. She was (and is) the talkative sort and we all expected her little one to be like her. But nothing really prepared us for her peaches and cream (literally) girlie who would keep us occupied day through night with her imaginary tales of fairies and goblins and her play-act school where she’d be the teacher and all the rest of us grown-ups at home ‘babies’ at her school!

Who does a kid resemble – the father or the mother? It is a question that’s a hot favourite with everyone when you meet them after a long time. While my father felt Anya looked like her ma did as a kid, my mother felt she resembled her father. I, on the other hand, feel she looks exactly like her aunt, my friend’s elder sis. Each time she flashes her lovely smile at me, I think of her elder sis who used to treat me to lovely cold coffee in the summers. Now, all of us are married and living in different parts of the country.

After a hectic week of visiting relatives and old friends and crazy shopping sprees, my friend and her family have just left to board the train back home. And what will I miss most? Anya’s irresistibly sweet smile and interesting chatter. And each time I think of her, I’m reminded of my friend’d sis’ cold coffee. I rustled up this quick batch of coffee cookies with dark chocolate chunks for them to take home. Hope the cookies rekindle memories of our shared childhood when they bite into them as it did for me while the inviting smell of coffee wafted from the oven as the cookies baked to perfection.

Coffee Cookies with Dark Chocolate Chunks

(Yields 35-40 medium-sized cookies)

Ingredients:

Maida/APF – 1 ½ cups

Butter – 110 gm

Instant coffee powder – 1 tbsp

Cocoa powder – ½ tsp

Powdered sugar – ½ cup

Light brown/Demerara sugar – ¼ cup

Baking powder – 1 ½ tsp

Salt – ¼ tsp

Milk – 1 tbsp

Dark chocolate – 75 gm

Note: You can use 1 tbsp coffee decoction instead of instant coffee powder. If using, skip milk and add another 10 gm of butter

Method:

Roughly chop the chocolate

Add maida/APF, salt, baking powder, coffee and cocoa powders and sugar in a bowl and mix well

Add chocolate and mix well

Add butter and mix well to form and soft dough

Preheat oven to 180 deg C

Roll out dough and cut into any shape of your choice. I formed the dough into ½ tsp, 1 tsp and 2 tsp sized balls and flattened them out into the traditional cookie shape. I also formed some of these into triangles. I like the triangles and the bite sized ½ tsp cookies the best

Place them with well-spaced on a baking tray and bake for 20 mins. Don’t be tempted to keep them in longer if they sem soft to the touch. They’ll harden as they cool

Cool properly and store them in an airtight jar

Don’t these bite sized cookies look cute? They look big thankls to the close-up, but they are placed in a saucer less than 3 inches wide and are each less than three-fourths of an inch across. I’m in love with these coin-sized cookies :)

Sending this to:

* The 13th edition of Blogging Marathon hosted by Srivalli of Spice your Life

* And to Kids  Delight  being hosted by Priya this month

Cakes Cookies and Desserts being hosted by Anjali of Spice n Sugar Tales

* Priya’s Healthy Diet – Baked Goodies event being hosted by Raji of Vegetarian Tastebuds

* ‘Love & Chocolate Fest’ being hosted by Vimitha

* I Love Baking being hosted by Radhika of Tickling Palates

* Sweet Luv hosted by Vardhini of Zesty Palette

12 thoughts on “Coffee Cookies with Dark Chocolate Chunks

  1. Coffee with chocolate has always been a fantastic combo, and now cookies that way are something that never clicked my brain cells; thanks for arousing them from deep sleep. :)
    They look good, really good.
    Glad you linked them. :)

  2. Nandini, I enjoyed your stories and your cookies too..so lovely to know abt Anya..kids are always so interesting to chat with..cookies are looking fantastic..I have bookmarked for my kids..so glad you joined us for the BM

Leave a Reply

