Cakes & Cookies / Finger foods

Nice-esque Coconut Cookies

Do you like Nice biscuits? Or at least remember those lovely simple rectangle coconut biscuits with sugar crystals sprinkled over? I used to love those biscuits as a kid. They were thin, crisp, had sugar sprinkled on them and nice little coconut flakes hit your tongue as you munched through.

Trying to recreate these simple biscuits was last on my mind when I started out getting all the ingredients ready for a basic cookie dough today. For the last few days I was waiting to wow my younger brother by baking simple butter biscuits that I’d learnt to make recently and turn out pretty well each time. But a friend of mine out-timed me by bringing over a big box of lovely flower-shaped butter
cookies from a bakery close to his home and between the four of us – my parents, brother and I – have polished off close to 3/4ths of the cookies.

So, today, I wanted to bake something that was a slight variation to the butter biscuits. I was thinking I’d just add some nuts to my cookies. As I was preparing the dough, my mother was clearing the kitchen counter and was transferring the remains of grated coconut flakes into an airtight box. And a bulb lit in the brain. “Why not try baking some coconut cookies,” I thought. And so went the coconut flakes, along with some cardamom powder, into the cookie dough.

While they were baking, my mum remarked how coconutty and wonderful the smell was. I baked the cookies in really tiny batches, since it was my first experiment with coconut. I kept the first set simple, with no toppings. I thought they looked too plain to be clicked. I topped the second set with finely
chopped almonds. These look nice and pretty, what do you think.


The Nice parallel came about when we bit into the cookies. It was then that it struck me I could have topped them simply with some sugar crystals. Coconut flakes would have been great, but I’d added whatever was available into the dough. I’m going to try the rectangular shape with sugar crystals
sprinkled on top next time. What about you?

Coconut Cookies

(makes around 12 medium sized cookies)

Ingredients:

Maida/All purpose flour – ½ cup

Powdered sugar – ¼ cup

Cardamom powder – ¼ tsp

Coconut flakes/grated coconut – 2 tbsp + 2 tbsp (for sprinkling on top)

Butter – 50-60 gm

Baking powder – ¼ tsp

Salt – ¼ tsp (omit if using salted butter)

Method:

Preheat oven to 180 deg C

Mix flour, salt, baking powder, powdered sugar, cardamom powder and coconut

Melt butter and add half the flour mix

Mix well with a spoon

Add the remaining half and mix well

The dough mixture will be crumbly. Try to roll them into balls and see if they hold shape. Add additional butter or oil, a tsp at a time, if required.

Roll them into half tbsp sized balls and pat them down slightly on a greased baking tray. Top with fresh grated coconut/coconut flakes

Leave enough space between two cookies as these spread a lot

Bake for 20 mins and let them rest in the oven for 2 mins before taking them out. These tend to harden a bit as they cool so don’t worry if they look somewhat soft

Allow to cool completely before storing them in an airtight container

(They taste lovely when warm so pop a few into your mouth too!)

Off this goes to

* The 13th edition of Blogging Marathon hosted by Srivalli of Spice your Life

* And to Kids  Delight  being hosted by Priya this month

* Cakes Cookies and Desserts being hosted by Anjali of Spice n Sugar Tales

* Priya’s Healthy Diet – Baked Goodies event being hosted by Raji of Vegetarian Tastebuds

12 thoughts on “Nice-esque Coconut Cookies

  1. They must have been really soft and utter flavorful! I’m a big time home-made cookie lover and these one are going to be in my oven tonight. Thanks for linking them to my event. 🙂

Leave a Reply

