Breakfast/Tiffin items / Fun Food / Pasta

Vegetable Macaroni


There’s this pasta recipe I’ve wanted to make for ages, but never come to actually doing it. It is pasta in a red capsicum sauce. As with most of my pasta stuff, this too is from Pioneer Woman. In fact, this one features right on top of the pasta list. But that’s how life is. You know, sometimes I do believe in destiny. How else could it be that you procrastinate something that is so within reach and you want pretty badly!

Anyway, today I was in a good want-to-eat-pasta mood. And I had the red capsicum and pasta AND parmesan cheese! And still I ended up preparing something closer to upma than pasta. No, don’t get me wrong! I did not mess up the dish. I made up one of my own as the eat-spicy urge took over and I really what I did! And it is when I make stuff like this that is so simple, make that so darn simple, that I wonder why we must buy instant food packets with dehydrated veggies (like Maggi or Saffola masala oats), when the real stuff will take only five minutes longer to prepare than the packaged one and will turn out so much more better for both, the tongue and the tummy!

I used a mix of a small packet of macaroni (the standard c-shaped tubes) and the remains of an interesting pasta that is shaped like a screw!

Vegetable Masala Macaroni

Ingredients:

Macaroni/pasta – 150 gm

Tomatoes – 2 (large)

Capsicum – 1 (I used half each of a red and a green)

Onions – 2 (medium)

Sweet corn – ¼ cup

Green chillies – 2

Oil + butter – 2 tbsp

Chole masala* – 1 tsp

Sambhar powder* – 1 tsp

Mustard seeds – 1 tsp

Jeera – 1 tsp

Fresh coriander – 2 tbsp

* You can use whatever masala powder you like – pav bhaji, garam masala, kitchen king etc. Alternatively, add another green or red chilli and omit the masala

Method:

Cook the pasta/macaroni. Don’t overcook or it’ll break and lose shape and you’ll end up with Mash-ta

instead of pasta like i did once (See note at end)

Finely chop all vegetables and pre-cook sweet corn, if using. I boiled it along with the pasta

Heat oil and butter in a big pan

Pop mustard seeds and add jeera

Add chopped green chillies and onion

Add capsicum when onion turns translucent

Sauté for a minute and add masala powders and tomatoes

When tomatoes are cooked well, add salt, cooked corn and drained pasta

Mix well and sauté for a couple of mins before taking off heat

Sprinkle chopped coriander leaves over pasta and serve

NOTE: Boil water (four times the quantity of pasta) and drop the pasta into hot water. Remove from heat after a 2 mins . Let is stay for 15 mins or so till the pasta is nearly done. Drain. Spread on a tray/plate. Pour a tsp of oil and mix it once gently. Oiling pasta after it is cooked prevents it from sticking or lumping up

2 thoughts on “Vegetable Macaroni

  1. Pingback: Bread Upma/ Shredded Bread Salad « foodiliciousnan

  2. Pingback: Pasta Upma | foodiliciousnan

Leave a Reply

