Cakes & Cookies / Fun Food

Simply wonderful Chocolate Cookies!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Hurray! I am now a successful baker!! I baked my first batch of ‘successful’ cookies in nearly 3 years. Ok, as always, I’ve got a real long story to tell.

When we got married, Ram’s friends gifted us a fab microwave oven. There was no oven at my mother’s place and so, I’d never used one before. And since I was new to cooking too, this piece of kitchen equipment really added to my excitement at trying out new things.

I tried quite a few things from the cookbook that came with the oven, almost always with disastrous results. But that never really dented my enthusiasm at trying to cook different things. Baking cakes and cookies was something I could never get with edible results. Over a period of time, I started experimenting with making cakes using the microwave function. There were many successes at that end and I slowly totally ignored the oven and grill altogether.

Last month, that precious instrument conked off and repairs were almost as expensive as buying a new one, so we managed with a simple microwave that my SIL passed on to me since she had just bought a new one. But it is only when you don’t have something that you want it with all your heart. And so was the case with me. I badly wanted to ‘bake’.

And so, last fortnight I coerced my co-sis to part with her nice big microwave oven (that has convection and grill features) in exchange for my sad little simple microwave. But she made me promise that I’d regularly supply her with cakes and cookies. I tried my hand at baking a mango cake last week, which was the baking world’s equivalent of a dumb blonde – a great looking package without much stuff inside!

Hence, the next thing I wanted to experiment with was cookies. I recently figured a friend’s sis maintains a food blog and is pretty good at baking. I checked out her site and was totally taken in with one chocolate cookie that she’d called ‘dark temptation’ (http://thecacographerr.blogspot.com/search/label/COOKIES).

I generally add and subtract ingredients at will, and turn up with results that are good and times and totally not worth mentioning at others. With this one though, I nearly stuck to the original version, except the addition of more flour to the dough at the end (because it did not turn out the way described in the recipe) and some change in the quantity of cocoa powder. But the end result was finger-smacking good and I packed away a few pieces of my co-sis and my sweet little nephew!

Simply Wonderful Choco Cookies

(Makes around 24 medium sized cookies)

Ingredients:

Maida – ½ cup + 1/8 cup

Corn flour – ¼ cup + 1 tbsp

Baking powder – ¼ tsp

Cocoa powder – 1 tbsp

Milk chocolate – 2 tsp (10 gm)

Powdered Sugar – 1/3 cup

Butter – 100 gm

Method:

Sift the flours together with baking powder and cocoa powder

Melt butter and add powdered sugar and milk chocolate. Mix well

Add sifted flours a little at a time and mix well

Place small mounds and pat into flat little discs on a baking tray and bake at 150 deg C for 20 mins (my oven, a Whirlpool, has a ‘crisp’ function especially for baking biscuits and is a combination of grill and microwave functions. I baked the biscuits in this mode for 5 ½ mins for the first batch and 4 mins for the second one)

Let cool and store in an airtight container (at least those that you haven’t popped into your mouth!)

3 thoughts on “Simply wonderful Chocolate Cookies!

  1. nandini i feel like eating cakes n cookies made by u…ven vl i get d opporty ? i simply love this stuff !! kudos to u for bakin so many things !!

  2. Pingback: PAHADI RAJMA & Choco-Walnut Cookies « foodiliciousnan

Leave a Reply

