Breakfast/Tiffin items / Fun Food

What’s for breakfast, honey? Hakka Noodles!

Rushing back home at 7 after my yoga class this morning, I realised I had no vegetables at home except capsicums and carrots and that Ram had to leave by 8.30. To top it, I’d forgotten to take my wallet, which meant I had to go back home for it and then to the veggie shop.

Well, it is not too difficult to cook for one in under an hour, considering a veg shop is stationed right outside my apartment. But I’m the sort of fellow who swoons at the sight of fresh vegetables in the morning and ends up spending thirty minutes buying them, where it should not take more than ten. Oh, what really can one do when looking at deep green capsicums, bright orange carrots, light green cabbage, beautiful heads of cauliflowers serenaded by their leafy crowns and all sorts of local vegetables — names of many of which I do not even know — except picking up some of each variety!

Hurriedly entering home, I mulled over the options available. The icing on the cake was when I realized that I’d run out of idli/dosa batter too! It was then that I decided hubby could do well by having lunch at the office canteen and I could unhurriedly prepare some good breakfast.

There was some mango milkshake carried over from yesterday and an apple. So the health quotient was taken care of. Now, for the main course. I rummaged through the kitchen cupboard and came across a pack of hakka noodles looking pleadingly at me. “Please! I’ve wallowed long enough in your cupboard. High time you held me in your nimble fingers!”

So, it was decided. Hakka noodles it will be for breakfast. Now, this was a dish I’ve longed to make for ages. It sounds so crazily simple that it is almost blasphemous I hadn’t tried it yet. And simple it was!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Just cook the noodles al dente (Drop noodles in boiling water and cook for a couple of minutes. Noodles will be half-cooked and will retain shape). Drain and keep aside.

Sautee onions, capsicum, carrots and cabbage in a tablespoon of oil over high heat.

Add a tablespoon each of soy sauce and green chilly sauce (since I did not have green chilly sauce either, I added two finely chopped green chillies along with the veggies) Add salt to taste

When the veggies are half done, add the noodles and cook for a further minute. Switch off flame.

Garnish with chopped spring onions. You can also top it with finely chopped coloured capsicum if you have any. Serve

PS: I know you’ve read, even prepared, noodles a hundred times and feel cheated at having to read a blog post on how I rushed through breakfast preparing hakka noodles this morning. Actually, I have to attend a friend’s wedding at noon and have been rushing through chores since morning and there was no way I wanted to miss out posting something today. Well, I have another of my grandma’s recipe lined up. Will try to post that later today, or tomorrow positively! Till then, drool over my noodles and photography 😉

3 thoughts on “What’s for breakfast, honey? Hakka Noodles!

  1. Pingback: Chinese for Dinner! « foodiliciousnan

Leave a Reply

