Cakes & Cookies

Apple Chocolate Crumble

I’ve had this cutting from some magazine for the last 5 years. It has a gorgeous picture of a bowl full of chopped apples, topped with some crumbly biscuity mixture and crème anglaise, something I’d heard of for first. It is followed by a recipe that looks so simple one would think I must be a fool to have not tried it all this while.

While going through my recipe folder, make that one of my recipe folders, last week, I finally decided the picture had tempted me enough and that it was high time I made it for myself. Of course, I found a way to sneak in some chocolate into it. It was fun to prepare and took a little under an hour, end to end. I left out the crème though.

Since I had only two small apples, I made just a fifth of the quantities mentioned in the recipe. Plus I baked it in the cupcake tray for individual portions. I suggest you make it in individual ramekins. The effect of cutting through the biscuity layer to reach the warm apple is beautiful.

Here, I’m giving proportions mentioned in the original plus, my chocolate addition. Enjoy it on a rainy evening with hot milk like I did.  I did not manage to serve any kid, but it did wonderfully well in satisfying the kiddy chocolate urges of my MIL, hubby and myself! And those of you reading this and others running Valli’s Blogging Marathon, do try it and let me know how it was for you. This post is also off to the  Kids Delight event being hosted by Vaishali this month

Apple Chocolate Crumble

Ingredients

For the apple filling:

Apples – 500 gm

Cinnamon – 2 sticks or ½ tsp powdered

Butter – 50 gm

Sugar – 50 gm 

For the chocolate crumble:

Butter (softened) – 100 gm

Castor Sugar – 250 gm

Flour (I used whole wheat) – 250 gm

Cocoa powder – 1/8 cup

Hazelnuts (I used walnuts and almonds) – 100 gm 

Method: 

For the filling

Core, peel and dice apples

Cook butter, sugar and cinnamon till light brown

Add apples and cook for a couple of mins

If the apples sweat, drain the liquid (see NOTES)

 For the crumble

Mix all ingredients together with your fingertips to make a crumbly mixture that clumps up together

Chill in the refrigerator for about half an hour 

 Assembling and baking

Preheat oven to 180deg C

Fill the cupcake moulds with apple filling till the halfway mark. Alternatively, fill a pie mould with the apple mixture

Top with the clumpy crumble mixture. Pat down lightly it you want a biscuity texture. I did it for a few of them and loved it. Of course, it will be more of a “cobbler” than a “crumble” then!

Bake for 15 mins if using cupcake moulds or for 20 mins if using pie mould.

If you baked in a cupcake tray, demould on a serving plate and top with a cherry or a blob of cherry jam. Serve in the ramekins if you baked in them. Cut into squares of desired size if you baked in a pie mould. Best served warm, but cold will do

NOTES

I was left with a little extra crumble mixture. I added just enough of the drained apple juice to the mixture so that you can roll them into tbsp sized balls and pat them into cookies. They were superb and I plan to make a big batch soon!

7 thoughts on “Apple Chocolate Crumble

Leave a Reply

