Cakes & Cookies / Fun Food

Mango-Banana Muffins with Almond Powder

A few years ago, my hubby travelled to Australia on work. That was his first overseas trip and he was really excited. Among the various goodies he got for me from there was a muffin tray. Although I’d been meaning to use it for ages, I just couldn’t find the right recipe to kick-start my muffin experiment.

Then, sometime last year, I stumbled upon some gorgeous looking mango muffins on some blog –they were eggless and used ingredients which I had at home. Plus, it was the middle of the mango season and so, there was a stock of sweet plump ones that would be perfect for the recipe. I noted down the recipe and went plunged headlong into mango muffin making.

The batter was poured into the muffin tray and into the oven it went. Twenty minutes later, I was looking at the six most perfect golden-yellow mango muffins, even better looking than the ones in the blog! How they tasted is another story and I’d rather not go into the details! I’ll never know where I goofed up; all I know is that I was left with lumpy, uncooked and tasteless, although pretty, muffins that went straight into the waste basket.

I’ve never attempted a mango cake after that. Why waste tasty mangoes trying to end up with a somewhat decent, palatable cake? That was the case until last week, when a bout of insanity struck me. I was reworking a banana cake recipe to make muffins when I was thoroughly tempted to add the pulp of a mango that had just been prepared for mango milkshake. Into the batter went the mango pulp. I did not have cupcake liners, so, I lined the tray with aluminium foil. Although these aren’t the prettiest looking muffins, they were definitely nice and spongy and tasted good. They aren’t overly sweet, so you could add 1-2 tbsp more sugar powder if you like.

Mango-Banana Muffins with Almond Powder

(Makes 12 muffins)

Ingredients:

Maida/APF – 1 cup less 1 tbsp

Banana puree – 1/3 cup

Mango puree – 1/3 cup

Powdered sugar – 1/2 cup

Powdered almonds – 1/8 cup

Milk – 1/3 cup

Oil – ½ cup

Honey – 1 tbsp

Vanilla essence – 1 tsp

Baking powder – 1 tsp

Baking soda – ½ tsp

Chopped chocolate blocks (optional) – 6 pieces

Method:

Preheat oven to 170 deg C

Mix flour, baking powder and baking soda

Mix mango and banana purees

Add oil, milk and sugar to the puree mix and beat well

Add the flour a little at a time and mix well

Add almond powder and mix well

Line a muffin tray with cupcake liners and pour batter halfway through into each hole. Place a chocolate piece in the centre of each muffin hole

Place in the oven and bake for 20 mins

Insert a knife into the muffin and see if it comes out clean. If not, bake for a few mins more

Let cool completely

Serve warm with vanilla ice cream

Sending this to Srivalli’s Blogging Marathon and Kids Delight hosted this month by Nupur

4 thoughts on “Mango-Banana Muffins with Almond Powder

Leave a Reply

