Cakes & Cookies

banana cake

I scaled it! MtBanana Cake that is!!

I’ve scaled Mt Banana Cake! Finally!! The idea of bakingwith fruits has always intrigued me. The more I drooled over pictures of prettypeach parcels, robust banana cakes and fancy apple pies, I more I wished tocreate them myself and proudly display them to the world, before, of course,digging into them myself.

But, the more I tried to impress others with my fruit bakes,the more I made a food of myself. So much so, even my ever-faithful ovenstarted laughing at me and ignoring even honest, sincere attempts. So, therehave been umpteen attempts at banana cakes (blogs claim this to be the mostsimple fruit cake to prepare) that ended up as semi-cooked puddings,garbage-grade mushy batters and impossible-to-chew rubbery loafs.

Yesterday evening, it was a pair of overripe bananas – and asudden drizzle – that spurred me into fruity trials yet again! I yearned for anice slice of banana cake peppered with nuts and choco chips to go with my mugof hot chocolate. It is absolutely another matter that my post-pregnancy dietallows me little pleasures of this sort!

First I thought I’d try to concoct a recipe of my own – afoolish thought considering I’ve had only marginal success with cakes so far.Anyway, I abandoned the idea before it took root any further and startedgoogling. I saved close to half a dozen “simple”, “quick”, “easy” banana cakerecipes, each with the same set of ingredients but no similar proportions. Iwent back to my original idea of coming up with a recipe of my own. I startedout with a basic vanilla eggless cake proportions and added more milk, flourand banana puree to result in a batter consistency I thought seemed passable.

Since I was running short of time (my sonny boy was startedto cry), I decided to microwave the batter instead of baking it. Halfwaythrough pouring it into the container, I felt the addition of some chocolatewouldn’t be bad either. And so, I added some Bournvita powder to the remainingbatter, poured it over the existing batter and gave roughly mixed the twobatters, hoping to come up with a ‘marble’ cake. It didn’t exactly turn outlike that, but it was passable! I wouldn’t say the creation was the bestchocolate banana cake there ever could be, but it did get the thumbs up from mybig little bro and my college-going cousin.

So, set out your kettle of tea, or mug of hot cocoa orcoffee or whatever else your heart desires and your very own homemade bananacake! Believe me, if you set your heart to it, the banana cake isn’t impossible

Eggless ChocolateBanana Cake

Ingredients:

Maida/APF – 1 cup

Banana – 1 (big)

Powdered sugar – 1 cup

Milk – 1/3 cup

Oil – ½ cup

Vanilla essence – 1 tsp

Baking powder – 1 tsp

Baking soda – ½ tsp

Bournvita powder – 1 tsp OR Cocoa powder – 2 tsp + sugarpowder – 1 tbsp

Walnuts – a dozen (chopped)

Method:

Mix flour, baking powder, baking soda and cocoa (if using)

Puree the banana

Mix oil and sugar and beat well

Add to it the banana puree and milk and beat well with awire whisk

Add the flour mix a little at a time and mix well

Add Bournvita powder and chopped walnuts and mix well

Grease and dust with flour a microwave safe container

Pour the cake batter into it (container should only be 75%full) and microwave on high for 5 mins

Let cool completely before inverting

Serve warm

Sending this to srivalli’s event (BM 15)

9 thoughts on “banana cake

  1. Pingback: Banana-Chocolate Layer Cake and some Celebration! « foodiliciousnan

Leave a Reply

